Boys' Varsity Hockey

Head Coach: Daniel Murphy

2016 Lawrenceville Tournament Champions
2011 Lawrenceville Tournament Champions
2008-09 New England Quarterfinalist
2008 Lawrenceville Tournament Champions
2006 Lawrenceville Tournament Champions
2005-06 Founders League Co-Champions
2005-06 New England Finalists

Boys Hockey has been played at Taft since Horace Dutton Taft founded the school in 1890. Taft’s long-standing tradition of excellence in boys’ ice hockey dates back to the undefeated 1905 team. Moreover, Taft was the first school in New England to have an indoor artificial ice surface “Mays Rink” in 1950. Over the past century Taft also has had only seven Head Varsity Boys’ Hockey coaches, all of which have emphasized excellence not only on the ice, but also in the classroom and the dormitory. The Taft Boys’ Hockey program is not only proud of helping their student athletes improve their individual skills and hockey “sense,” but also helping them to foster their leadership skills as well. Taft Hockey boasts a rich history of preparing their players to become “Captains” of their respective teams. Because Taft has two ice surfaces (Mays and Odden Arena), we are equally as pleased to celebrate hockey as an inclusive sport for Taft students, as we do our most recent graduates winning the Stanley Cup (Ryan Shannon ‘01 / Anaheim Ducks), being picked 22rd overall in the 2007 National Hockey League Entry Draft (Max Pacioretty / Montreal Canadiens), being a 2007 Hobey Baker Finalist (John Curry ’03 / Boston University), or winning the 2006 Lawrenceville School Christmas tournament. Hockey at Taft can be played by the student-athlete that aspires to play from the recreational to professional level.

THE TAFT SCHOOL  | 110 Woodbury Road | Watertown, Connecticut 06795 | 860-945-7777 |